top of page

Innovating Worship in an older congregation...

I find myself as the interim music person doing contemporary worship in a blended service for a midsized older church. The church at one point had a huge staff, a large choir, and three well attendad specialized services (Traditional, Contemporary, Contemplative). Today they find themselves with a reduced staff, a small choir, one service, and a fair amount of anxiety.

Maybe this story sounds familiar to you, perhaps this is your church. Maybe you're the music minister who is dragging your church, kicking and screaming, towards the type of worship they have asked for.

I suggest that introducing new and exciting ideas, styles, and music does not need to be a painful process. Here I will share with you some of my ideas, strategies, victories, and setbacks as I help serve this church and these people that I love.

This church posses a great depth-chart of talented musicians (band, organ, handbells, strings, percussion, pianists, and more), vocalists, as well as committed A/V volunteers and a passionate and gifted staff. It is a joy to work with all of them, and an honor to be a part of what the Holy Spirit is doing at Clairmont Presbyterian. I know her best days are not behind her.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Connect
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page