top of page

Sacred/Secular - Take Up Your Spade


I first heard Sara Watkins’ beautiful song Take Up Your Spade during the “weather” section of an episode of the podcast “Welcome to Nightvale.” I heard the song and immediately fell in love.

Thinking back on the song later I “remembered” a fourth verse, which I was surprised to not find recorded anywhere. So I have sat on it for a while, refined it, and am really excited to share how it has worked itself out.

This coming Sunday I will be sharing this song during a time of worship with my youth group as we discuss the book of Philemon. I will be challenging them to live out the Kingdom of God in their world, and seek to build a world in line with the dream of God.

Here are the cords as I hear them… it is easy to transpose/capo for your vocal range.

My added verse is at the end and italicised.

-----------------------------------

Intro- |: D A G :|

D A G

Sun is up, a new day is before you

D A G

Sun is up, wake your sleepy soul

D A G

Sun is up, hold on to what’s been given

D A G

Take up your spade and break ground

Interlude- |: D A G :|

Shake off your shoes,

Leave yesterday behind you

Shake off your shoes,

But forget not where you've been

Shake off your shoes,

Forgive and be forgiven

Take up your spade and break ground

Give thanks, for all that you've been given

Give thanks, for who you can become

Give thanks, for each and every moment

Take up your spade and break ground

Break ground, break ground, break ground

Praise God, who is a loving parent

Praise God, our saviour and our friend

Praise God, the wild and holy Spirit,

Take up your spade and break ground.

Break ground, break ground, break ground


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Connect
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page